FarmVille Scam: Beware of the “Clover Foal” Notice
Tweet |
Alert! Just like the our previous post about the Carnival foal scam, the Clover pony posts you may be seeing on your News Feed look legitimate until you click on them. This is another scam from someone attempting impersonate FarmVille. We have heard several farmers complain that these fake posts are putting viruses on their computers.
FarmVille Clover Foal Scam FaceBook Notice
Please be aware that it this another scam. This is not a post from the Official Zynga FarmVille game!
FarmVille Clover Foal Scam Page
Please be sure to report any suspicious posts on FaceBook and do not click on unfamiliar applications. If you already have clicked any of these scams, consider updating to a new password on your FaceBook account and running a virus scan.
We hope that you find this information useful and you will pass it on to your FarmVille friends and neighbors!
Have you seen this fake “Clover Foal” on your News Feed?
Tags: FarmVille Clover Foal, FarmVille FaceBook Notice, farmville freak, FarmVille Scam, farmville.com, farmvillefreak.com








Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 1:18 pm
Just seen it…
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 1:23 pm
Awwwww to bad he is so cute
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 1:24 pm
I just saw that…glad I didn’t click on it
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 1:24 pm
thanks for the advice, i am going to run my virus protection. This one looked like it really came from fv…had the corn, farmVille spelled correctly…How do you know it’s a scam??????????
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 1:30 pm
FV uses the same screen for 99% of the items you can claim off the News Feed. These scams normally take you to just another FB page, that usually looks like a profile page. However, who ever is posting these is getting better at making them look legitimate.
One big thing to notice is that with all REAL FV items, you NEVER see a pop-up to share one with others right away. If you were able to share one, at this point I can easily say it would pop-up similar to the Fan Cows we’ve all been able to share recently.
If you do click on these, PLEASE remember to report it to FB. They are really the only ones who can put a stop to these scams.
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 1:32 pm
Hover your mouse pointer over the ‘Claim it’ link and look at the address of the link. If it doesn’t say “apps.facebook.com/onthefarm” it is not from Zynga. You can also right-click on the link and view ‘Properties’ to find where it points.
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 1:47 pm
Looked legitimate, clicked it, realised immediately it was scam then closed window. they’re getting crafty.
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 2:22 pm
The problem of it is the posting in the feed looks correct. And, the screen that follows carries the Zynga and Farmville logos. When these scams first started you could find something misspelled or a missing icon but now they look legit.
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 2:36 pm
@Byron #6- thanks so much! This is an easy way to tell and the information is much appreciated : )
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 2:47 pm
If you are using Firefox you can see the Facebook Application ID Number for any link before you click on it. It will appear in the lower left corner of your screen just above MS Start if you hover your mouse over “via FarmVille”.
Once you familiarize yourself with the last three digits of a legitimate FarmVille post, you will never click on a fraud again.
So simple to take a second and check.
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 2:58 pm
I usually block these – I hate clicking yes when it says ‘Are you sure you want to block farmville?’ – but I know it’s not really farmville!
Can’t FB do anything so that only links by Zynga ‘onthefarm’ can call themselves ‘farmville’ – so others can’t imitate FV?
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 3:04 pm
There’s also a fake truffle thing that just hit the circuits. The post looks genuine, but there’s a different app ID if you look closely. Then it asks for permission etc., and if you give it permission, the gift page looks very different and advertises meeting romantic partners. It’s not easy to remove from your apps because it’s called Farmville too, with the same icon, and you have to look at the app ID to work out which Farmville to delete.
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 3:26 pm
Hah! If you give it permission it just posts fake truffles to ALL your neighbours’ walls! No popups needed.
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 3:35 pm
Wow now these spam geeks really have time to waste… Its so mean!! All we wanna do is play Farmville !!!
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 3:42 pm
guys, i think i know a way how to stop this guy. i didnt find his link, can anyone please post here his link of this guy, so ill check it out.
thanks
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 4:27 pm
Well, I hope that someone can eventually put an end to these scams… I clicked of course but then closed the next page that opened up. Lots of my neighbors got caught at the same time as me. Hate it!
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 4:40 pm
White kitty too
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 4:52 pm
Just started scaning….must admit he is cute….
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 4:56 pm
Of course I’ve seen this on my feed, I have neighbours who fall for every scam that come along.
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 5:18 pm
Actually I seen that im in this persons friends list, so I dont know…. Sorry for the inconvenience
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 5:25 pm
Elili….you wanted the link? This is what i got from it….
http://apps.facebook.com/giftfarmreward/?ref=nf
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 5:34 pm
Saw another one this evening that had the white kitten that you can only win int he mystery game. Darn hackers.
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 5:38 pm
Saw this one and another for a white kitten.
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 5:56 pm
there is another scam i think. it is about a white kitten. it looks exactly like the clover foal post when you click on it. i thought it was the kitten from the mystery box but when i clicked on it, the same looking post from the clover foal came up. not sure if it is real or not. just keep an eye out
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 8:20 pm
Seeing as all the scams have appeared as actual items in the market I will be getting my fc ready to buy this I bet the foals awesome.
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 8:21 pm
Oops realized this was thenfoal after i posted I meant I et the full is awesome
Posted on March 9th, 2011 at 8:41 pm
There’s also a yellow unicorn one that does exactly the same thing. It opens a second window that will not close unless your shut down Explorer (if you’re using Explorer).
Posted on March 10th, 2011 at 1:29 am
I just saw another one for hummingbirds too, so please keep an eye out.
@Elvse I was thinking the SAME thing!!! Do these people have NOTHING better to do than to make scams and viruses??? What is the point?? Just to make someones life more difficult, ruin their computer, hence cost them money to fix it?? Utterly rediculous!
Posted on March 10th, 2011 at 7:33 am
Isn’t it sad that we used to depend on Farmville Freak to give us a heads-up concerning what we could expect from Farmville in the way of unreleased items? Now I get this information just watching the scams. Thanks for nothing FF.
Posted on March 10th, 2011 at 7:35 am
@ the person who calls yourself “Moo Moo Moo”
Thanks for the info. I just posted that as my FB Status, and now it is hopefully working it’s way to many firefox users. It definitely helped me.
I have not seen them personally, but I know my mum asked me about one where the post looked completely legit. Shame, really that they have all this time to kill. if they’re smart enough to do something like this then they’re definitely smart enough to have a decent job in IT work.
Posted on March 10th, 2011 at 2:51 pm
how about this new irish cob. it has that same pop up
This Irish Cob Foal is looking for a home. Hope you will adopt him!
Posted on March 10th, 2011 at 6:06 pm
this notice is fake but there is now a clover pony in the market.
Posted on April 5th, 2011 at 10:01 pm
I purchased the clover pony from the market and produce several a day. The same with the valentines and other horses I have purchased. Is there any way I can let my neighbors know it is not me doing this???